• Snuggery
  • Posts
  • A Very Practical Magic Affair

A Very Practical Magic Affair

Witchy wonders for a cozy night in.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“My darling girl, when are you going to realize that being normal is not necessarily a virtue? It rather denotes a lack of courage.”

– Aunt Frances, Practical Magic (Alice Hoffman)

🤎 from the hearth 🤎

Dear friend,

Before I start casting spells, I’d like to apologize for missing last week’s postcard. I have a good reason, though: Hurricane Milton ravaged my city, forcing me to evacuate and leaving me without power and WiFi for days.

I count myself incredibly lucky. My animals, family, friends, and home are safe and sound. Sadly, many weren't as fortunate. If you're able, please consider donating to local recovery efforts—every little bit helps those still in need. (Here are a couple of grassroots orgs making a difference: Mutual Aid Disaster Relief; Tampa Food Not Bombs.)

My heart swells with pride for my community and this city that has so quickly become home. Watching linemen, first responders, and everyday people open their wallets, hands, and hearts to help others is truly humbling.

On a brighter note, a cold front blew through Florida this week, bringing with it a much-needed breath of autumn. It’s been so lovely to see neighbors swap fallen branches for pumpkins, their skeletons standing guard where debris once lay. Milton ain’t got nothin’ on autumn.

With the crisp air and shifting mood, I think it’s the perfect weekend to host the Practical Magic movie night I’ve been dreaming about for so long. Below, I’ve gathered some spellbinding selections to make it an enchanting evening.

Feel free to borrow a little magic for your own night in. Whether you whip up midnight margaritas with Sally and Gilly or simply light a festive candle, don’t forget to invite a little enchantment into your heart and home this weekend.

🍂 seasonal selections 🍂

  • It’s come to my attention that some people didn’t know Practical Magic started as a book, so I feel compelled to show you this! unreal! signed! edition!

  • No Practical Magic watch party is complete without a few rounds of midnight margaritas. Here’s a witchy twist on the classic recipe that’ll have you dancing under the moonlight.

  • “There are some things, after all, that Sally Owens knows for certain: Always throw spilled salt over your left shoulder. Keep rosemary by your garden gate. Add pepper to your mashed potatoes. Plant roses and lavender, for luck. Fall in love whenever you can.” And potpourri smells fucking divine. Here are a few simple simmer pot recipes to fill your home with cozy, inviting scents before your guests arrive.

  • While watching the film, I plan to craft some fruit garlands—something I do every year to add a touch of whimsy to my home. Here’s a simple DIY you can follow if you’d like to join in on the fun.

📙 spectacular vernacular 📙

Esbat [ES-bat] (n.) • French

  1. a gathering of witches to celebrate the full moon and engage in magical practices, held in conjunction with the Wiccan tradition

The coven convened for the esbat, weaving spells and sharing secrets under the silvery glow of the moon.

🌰 cozy conversations 🌰

As the nights grow longer, what small rituals do you turn to for grounding and protection? Maybe it’s lighting a candle, brewing a cup of herbal tea, or setting an intention before bedtime. How do these rituals make you feel connected to yourself or something larger?

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays. I’m off to take a walk in this lovely sweater weather.

Until next time, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

P.S. Before returning to our usual biweekly schedule, I’ll be sending another postcard next week to make up for the one I missed. 🤎

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

🌰 Share Your Thoughts: Reply to this email with a ‘cozy conversation’ response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Support the Warmth: Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Stay Connected: Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

🤎 Spread the Coziness: Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

🍂 Explore My Words: Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.