Summer Salutations

Embracing the warmth and wonder of the season.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer.”

– F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby

🍑 from the hearth 🍑

Dear friend,

It’s been a while, hasn’t it? I’ve missed our chats! Please forgive my unexpected two-week hiatus. My life has been delightfully hectic with various writing projects and fun out-of-town events.

Given this bustling season, I’ve decided to shift our newsletter to a bi-weekly schedule for now. This change will help me maintain consistency and dedicate more time to curating each postcard, ensuring every edition is the best it can be.

Thank you for understanding, and I’ll keep you posted if I decide to return to a weekly schedule. <3

Now, on to the good stuff…

Happy (Snuggery) summer! While we still have a couple more weeks until it’s official, I’m sure you know by now that I like to start the festivities a little early.

I’ll admit: as a lover of crispy weather and all things cozy, summer is my least favorite of the four seasons. But it certainly has its charms. There’s a unique magic in the long, sunlit days, the vibrant bursts of nature, and the sweet, leisurely moments that define this time of year.

I’m excited to share my cozy picks with you this season, and I hope each of you has the most splendid summer yet.

🌞 seasonal selections 🌞

  • Obviously, The Great Gatsby had to be included in the first summer edition of Snuggery. Few things evoke the season quite like Daisy Buchanan lounging in the sunroom, fanning herself amidst the scorching afternoon heat. I reread it at the start of every summer and it never fails to ignite my excitement for the season. This edition is a beauty! (I know not everyone agrees, but I also love the 2013 movie adaptation.)

  • An Orange Julius is the perfect summertime treat, in my opinion, and this recipe never fails me. My substitutions: monk fruit sweetener and any dairy-free milk.

  • Speaking of oranges, my boyfriend’s birthday is coming up, and he always requests his favorite orange mandarin cake. It is truly lick-the-plate divine. To make it vegan and slightly healthier, I sub 1 cup of applesauce for the eggs and use Coco Whip + I make sure my cake and pudding mixes are vegan.

🍊 spectacular vernacular 🍊

meriggiare [muh-REE-jah-ray] (v.) • Italian

  1. to escape the afternoon heat by resting in the shade

As the summer sun blazed overhead, the farmhand decided to meriggiare, retreating to the cool shade of a large oak tree.

⛱️ cozy conversations ⛱️

What’s your favorite summer memory? Take a moment to reminisce and share it with someone special.

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays. I’m now craving an Orange Julius, so I’m off to get the ingredients. 🍊

Until next time, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

🐝 Share Your Thoughts: Reply to this email with a ‘cozy conversation’ response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Support the Warmth: Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Stay Connected: Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

💛 Spread the Coziness: Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

🌼 Explore My Words: Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.