Prelude to Autumn

Subtle seasonal shifts.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“The first breath of autumn was in the air, a prodigal feeling, a feeling of wanting, taking, and keeping before it is too late.”

– J.L. Carr, A Month in the Country

🤎 from the hearth 🤎

Dear friend,

It is late August and I am restless again. That old autumn itch has snuck into my soul.

I miss the freedom that fall brings, the feeling of being so intensely alive as everything else fades into fog. I long to delight in dazzling dead things.

In my 25 years as a creature of autumn, I have learned that it is best to act early to keep the late summer blues at bay. And instead of killing time or wishing it away, I have learned to celebrate the subtle shifts.

These past couple of weeks, I’ve begun trading in my summer satins for cozier comforts. The bunnies scattered about my space have gradually transformed into pumpkins. My lavender latte now tastes of maple syrup. Candles light my bedside long before nightfall.

And the rainy season here in Florida has been a boon. I’ve been cozied up by the window, watching the world go by as the rain punches persistently against the panes.

For now, these small comforts are enough. For now, I will sit back and watch as the green gives way to gold, patiently waiting as Mother works her magic.

🍂 seasonal selections 🍂

  • Every once in a while, I like to take on ambitious challenges. Right now, I’m just over halfway through 75 Hard, which has inspired me to experiment with a slew of high-protein recipes. This chili has become a staple—it’s affordable, easy, and customizable, and it gets me excited for the cooler days ahead.

  • I may have mentioned him before, but Trout and Coffee (Kyle) is one of my absolute favorite creators. His content feels like the warmest hug you’ve ever received. An artist from Western MA, he’s a genius with the camera. His latest video, capturing the first signs of fall in New England, left me absolutely giddy. It’s a must-watch. (Just be sure to restart it if needed; I had some trouble getting it to go back to the beginning.)

  • This lovely poem by Nona Keen Duffy gently reminds us to embrace the excitement of the future without sacrificing the beauty of the present.

📙 spectacular vernacular 📙

Gluggaveður [gluhg-ah-veh-dur] (n.) • Icelandic

  1. the type of weather that is best enjoyed indoors, from the comfort of one’s home; window weather

As the first glimmers of autumn appeared, the gluggaveður coaxed the lovers to bed, where they savored the sounds of rain.

🌰 cozy conversations 🌰

What’s the weather like where you are? Have you spotted any signs of the cooler days to come?

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays. I’m officially decorating for autumn this weekend. 🍁

Until next time, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

🌰 Share Your Thoughts: Reply to this email with a ‘cozy conversation’ response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Support the Warmth: Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Stay Connected: Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

🤎 Spread the Coziness: Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

🍂 Explore My Words: Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.