Navigating the New Year

Enveloping myself in love and grace.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“The universe is full of magical things patiently waiting for our wits to grow sharper.”

– Eden Phillpotts, A Shadow Passes

🤍 from the hearth 🤍

Dear friend,

As each new year approaches, so many of us become engrossed in making lists and setting goals. We scrutinize our bodies and our brains, stewing on perceived failures and shortcomings.

In the whirlwind of self-reflection and regret, we vow to change our habits and transform our lives. We make empty promises and overzealous resolutions.

This year, I’ll read fifty books.

In 2024, I won’t eat any sugar.

The pursuit of self-improvement certainly has its time and place. Eating less junk and reading more books are admirable endeavors.

But amidst the merrymaking and mayhem, we often forget one crucial truth: We don’t have to do anything to be worthy of being alive. The accomplishment of goals doesn’t serve as a justification for our existence, and a life spent obsessively ticking boxes is not a life well lived.

We didn’t come into this world—wailing and brimming with so much life—only to become ceaseless cogs in a make-believe self-improvement wheel.

We are here now, in these fragile bodies, living this fantastic life, and that, my friend, will always be enough.

☃️ seasonal selections ☃️

  • I haven’t crafted mine for 2024 yet, but I’m a sucker for a good vision board. They truly help me to visualize and go after the things I want out of this life. Hop on Pinterest and Canva, or get old-school with magazines, scissors, and a board. Let your dreams take shape in a collage of pure inspiration. Here’s mine from last year.

  • For a sip of joy and a dash of luck, try these blood-orange champagne mules. They’re fun and festive, and oranges are said to bring good luck.

🌬 spectacular vernacular 🌬

qualtagh [KWAL-tahk] (n.) • Manx

  1. the first person one meets after leaving home on a special occasion, especially New Year’s Day

  2. the first person to cross one’s threshold on New Year’s Day; the first-foot

Keenly aware that he would be the qualtagh, the man entered his neighbor’s home with a bottle of whiskey and a loaf of freshly baked bread, the warm aroma and shared sip marking a moment of camaraderie as the old year made way for the new.

🌨 cozy conversations 🌨

Reflect on the year behind and the one ahead. Share a lesson or a moment that melted your heart in 2023, and set a sweet intention or warm wish for the year to come.

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Fridays (sorry—this postcard is a bit late). I’m still not sure what I’m doing for NYE, but I know the night will be filled with sparkles and champagne.

Until next year, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

🌬 Share Your Thoughts: Reply to this email with a ‘cozy conversation’ response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Support the Warmth: Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Stay Connected: Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

🤍 Spread the Coziness: Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

☃️ Explore My Words: Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.