Nestling in November

The calm after the spooky storm.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“It was November—the month of crimson sunsets, parting birds, deep, sad hymns of the sea, passionate wind-songs in the pines. Anne roamed through the pineland alleys in the park and, as she said, let that great sweeping wind blow the fogs out of her soul.”

– L.M. Montgomery, Anne of Green Gables

🪵 From the Hearth 🪵

Dearest reader,

If October is an extrovert—with its wild winds and haunted houses—then November is an introvert, safe inside at last after a seemingly never-ending party.

Yes, with November also comes Thanksgiving (for us Americans at least), but politics-at-the-dinner-table aside, there’s a newfound stillness and serenity that arrives on the first of November, only after the last of the Jack-o’-Lantern candles have been blown out.

November is the calm after the spooky storm, the hush before the sleigh bells ring. November is citrine against a grey sky, the nip on your nose after a stroll at sundown. It’s handmade fingerless gloves, crawling underneath an electric blanket, hugging with a jacket barrier between bodies.

November is my favorite of the autumn months because it shows instead of tells, because it doesn’t need to be loud for people to understand its beauty. It just dances, and those who pass can’t help but watch in awe.

endless array of autumn leaves spotted on an evening stroll last year in Fayetteville, AR

🍂 Seasonal Selections 🍂

☕️ What’s Been Brewing ☕️

  • If you ever find yourself in Canton, MA, you have to visit this cozy culinary haven. The concept is adorable and heartwarming and the owners were a delight to chat with.

📙 Spectacular Vernacular 📙

Isolophilia [eye-solo-philia] (n.)

  1. a strong desire to be left alone; a tendency toward solitude

Maddened by the mania of the crowd, thoughts of isolophilia began to overtake his mind.

🤎 Cozy Conversations 🤎

What’s your favorite thing to do when you’re alone? How do you enjoy your own company?

A Reader’s Autumn Morning:

“Today I took a walk up the hill near me… The autumn sunlight came peeking through wispy white clouds this morning, and drove away the fog. My cheeks were red from the cold and I felt so happy to be alive!”

Sounds lovely, Jixie <3

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays.

I turn 25 this weekend, so I plan to drink lots of festive cocktails and eat delicious vegan food.

Until next week, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

Reply to this email with a Cozy Conversation response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

🤎 Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

🍂 Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.