Get Free

Celebrating independence with spirit and spunk.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“Emancipate yourselves from mental slavery / None but ourselves can free our minds.”

– Bob Marley and the Wailers, “Redemption Song”

🍑 from the hearth 🍑

Dear friend,

Happy Independence Day!

For those of you outside the U.S. who may not be familiar with the holiday, it’s our annual celebration of independence marking the day in 1766 when the Declaration of Independence was adopted, signaling our freedom from British rule.

We commemorate this historic event with a mix of exuberant activities, including, well, getting really drunk and slightly naked because, you know, ‘Merica.

While I’m not usually one for excessive displays of civic pride, I do believe in personal freedom above all else and I am passionate about honoring the fierce bravery of those who came before us, allowing us to enjoy our celebrations with such fervor.

And I’m not just talking about the soldiers or the founding fathers. I’m talking about the poets, the artists, the revolutionaries who have shaped the soul of this nation—those people who dared to dream of a better, kinder, freer world.

Think of iconoclasts like James Baldwin, who spoke truth to power through his poignant prose. Or Maya Angelou, whose words soared above the shackles of her time, daring others to dream of better days. These are the true torchbearers of freedom.

For me, freedom isn’t red, white, and blue flags; it isn’t fireworks, beer, and barbeques. True freedom is being unapologetically, fiercely yourself. It’s about fighting for a better world, even when the odds are stacked comically against you. It’s painting and writing and talking—connecting with and challenging your fellow humans in meaningful ways.

Even after more than 200 years of celebrating this hard-won independence, our freedoms are still under constant threat in this ever-turbulent country. But I won’t go down without a fight. Will you?

🌞seasonal selections 🌞

  • A timeless celebration of freedom and nonconformity, Jack Kerouac’s On the Road is the quintessential beat novel. Join Sal Paradise and Dean Moriarty as they traverse the open roads of America, seeking adventure and enlightenment.

  • Civil Disobedience by Henry David Thoreau is one of those essays I read when I was growing up that fundamentally shaped who I am and how I view the world. It’s a powerful call to individual resistance against unjust laws and a reminder that true freedom often means going against the grain.

  • Into the Wild is one of my favorite movies of all time. Based on the true story of Christopher McCandless, the movie portrays one man’s journey to find ultimate freedom in the Alaskan wilderness, away from the constraints of societal expectations and materialism.

🍊 spectacular vernacular 🍊

eleutheromania [el-yoo-thuh-roh-may-nee-uh] (n.) • Greek

  1. an intense and irresistible desire for freedom

Fueled by eleutheromania, the Beat Poets broke free from societal restraints and resolved to live life on their own terms.

⛱️ cozy conversations ⛱️

What activities or moments make you feel most free, and why?

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays. I’m currently at the pool grilling some (veggie) burgers, because apparently I am an American cliché.

Until next time, stay free.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

🐝 Share Your Thoughts: Reply to this email with a ‘cozy conversation’ response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Support the Warmth:Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Stay Connected: Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

💛Spread the Coziness: Share Snuggerywith anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

🌼Explore My Words: Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.