Dreams of Green

Unlocking the magic of Mother.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“In the spring, at the end of the day, you should smell like dirt.”

– Margaret Atwood, Bluebeard’s Egg

💛 from the hearth 💛

Dear friend,

Before getting into this week’s garden-themed postcard, I’d like to extend my thanks to everyone who’s sent sweet messages over the past couple of weeks! I love reading them so much. I’m currently experiencing some technical glitches with my email, which means I can’t respond right now. I’m working on resolving this issue and will get back to each of you asap!

A special shoutout to Hayley for pointing out some readability/color concerns with the spring edition when viewed on phones in dark mode—I’ve tweaked the colors, so it should be easier on the eyes now, but I’m happy to adjust further if needed. If anyone ever encounters issues like this please don’t hesitate to reach out and I’ll do my best to fix them!

My father is a seriously gifted gardener. Some of my fondest childhood memories involve watching him in the garden—mowing the grass, digging holes, planting seeds. Thanks to his green thumb, our homes always radiated such wild beauty.

And like my father, the instant I spot a spring sprout, I am consumed by the irresistible, animalistic desire to get my hands dirty.

I want to dig into the earth and plant food, plant flowers, plant so many bright, beautiful things. I want to feel soil under my nails and sweat on my skin. I want to work hard and then sit back, relax, and watch seeds turn into stories.

But this dream eludes me for two reasons:

  1. While I’ve inherited many traits from my father—his impatient nature, fair skin, and curious mind, to name a few—I did not inherit his gardening prowess.

  2. I have lived in tiny houses or apartments my entire adult life, always lacking the space for a proper garden.

So, I’ve crafted a little list tailored to folks like me—people with numb thumbs and small spaces, yet a burning desire to cultivate vibrant, verdant gardens to call their own.

Consider this postcard a stepping stone on your gardening journey. And who knows? With a bit of perseverance, perhaps this time next year, your thumb will glow green.

🐝 seasonal selections 🐝

  • Me the second the sun comes out.

  • If you’ve ever felt a pull toward homesteading, paganism, or herbalism, The Green Witch is a must-read. Perfect for beginners, the book offers invaluable insights into harnessing the magic of nature.

  • I absolutely adore this content creator/homesteader and every single one of his videos. He articulates my thoughts about America so well, offering an honest, informative perspective without veering into nihilism.

  • Dreaming of homesteading? While owning land still might be on the horizon for many of us (me), I’ve been researching ways to embrace self-sufficiency and sustainability, even while renting. I recently stumbled upon “Becoming a Farm Girl” on YouTube, and her channel has been a gold mine of tips and tricks. This playlist in particular is a gem.

  • And in that same vein, if you’re eager to get your hands dirty but don’t have your own garden space, this site allows you to enter your zip code and find all the community garden plots in your area! Such a great way to learn from seasoned growers and connect with like-minded people.

🐣 spectacular vernacular 🐣

apricate [AP-ri-kayt] (v.) • Latin

  1. to bask in the sun

After a long day of gardening, the tired old lady sprawled across the dirt and began to apricate, an act that always filled her with a sense of childlike joy.

🌼 cozy conversations 🌼

What’s your go-to remedy or ritual for grounding yourself when life gets hectic? Share your practices and let’s inspire one another to find moments of peace amidst the chaos. 🌱🍵

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays. I'm headed to the beach to collect sea glass for crafting homemade jewelry!

Until next week, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

🐝 Share Your Thoughts: Reply to this email with a ‘cozy conversation’ response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Support the Warmth: Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Stay Connected: Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

💛 Spread the Coziness: Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

🌼 Explore My Words: Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.