December's Delights

Cherishing the whimsy of winter.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“Surely everyone is aware of the divine pleasures which attend a wintry fireside; candles at four o’clock, warm hearth rugs, tea, a fair tea-maker, shutters closed, curtains flowing in ample draperies to the floor, whilst the wind and rain are raging audibly without.”

– Thomas De Quincey, Confessions of an English Opium Eater

🤍 from the hearth 🤍

Dear friend,

Happy December! The world outside may be bustling with holiday cheer, but here in our snug corner, time dances to a slower tune. Allow yourself to embrace that melody, finding moments of rest and relaxation when you need them.

In these recent days, my hours have been marked by copious cups of coffee and the constant flicker of all-day candles. As night falls, I drift into slumber with a book in hand, my bedside lamp still casting its kaleidoscopic glow.

Winter is an alchemist. It has a wondrous way of turning the mundane into magic; even the simplest of moments shimmer with an unexpected luminosity under the season’s spell. Here’s to cherishing these fleeting moments and finding patterns in even the smallest of snowflakes.

☃️ seasonal selections ☃️

  • I’ve decided to bake a sweet treat every weekend in December, starting with these deliciously simple snickerdoodles. (Made sugar-free by using monk fruit in the raw.)

  • Need a dose of seasonal style inspiration? Check out these five eco-friendly holiday looks, tailored to every party and personality. Writing this piece was a joy! I can vouch for the quality of the clothing, having purchased items from most of the listed brands.

  • From chefs to writers to athletes, I’ve always been captivated by extremists—those rare, outlandish people who are unafraid to push themselves beyond conventional limits. Case in point: the ice-beard surfers of Lake Superior. They’re insane and way cooler than I’ll ever be.

  • I have absolutely no reason to purchase this quilted patchwork coat + jogger set (made from recycled polyester!), but I wish I did. It’s not the most budget-friendly, but could be seen as an investment if you live somewhere cold. (Here’s the matching cap and scarf, if you’re feeling extra cozy.)

🌬 spectacular vernacular 🌬

croodle [kroo-dl] (v.) • British

  1. to huddle together to escape the cold; to cuddle or snuggle

Desperate to keep warm during the early December storm, the family croodled beneath a fort of thick blankets.

🌨 cozy conversations 🌨

What’s your go-to winter read or favorite chilly weather activity? It can be anything that warms your heart (or body), making the season truly magical.

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays. It’s been around 60ºF here in Florida (practically freezing), so I’m off to croodle my cat.

Until next week, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

🌬 Share Your Thoughts: Reply to this email with a ‘cozy conversation’ response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Support the Warmth: Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Stay Connected: Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

🤍 Spread the Coziness: Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

☃️ Explore My Words: Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.