• Snuggery
  • Posts
  • Cozy Up to the World of Learning

Cozy Up to the World of Learning

Soothing playlist, logolepsy, and academia.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“I am out with lanterns, looking for myself.”

– Emily Dickinson (She wrote this line in a letter to a friend. It’s not intended to be deep at all, and it’s actually pretty funny, but poets gon’ poet.)

🪵 From the Hearth 🪵

Dear friend,

I was never particularly fond of formal education, given my iconoclastic tendencies and natural disdain for authority. My passion for learning, however, has always burned brightly.

Although my school days exist only as echoes of the past, there will always be a special space in my soul reserved for the pursuit of knowledge and all the aesthetic pleasures that accompany it.

The weight of a well-worn book, the mad scribble of pen on page, that almost-audible “click” as the puzzle piece slowly slides into place…

These are all back-to-school images that I carry with me throughout autumn. I think it’s important to hold onto them as we grow older. For me, they serve as little reminders to cherish the lifelong journey that is learning.

Photo: Courtesy of Jixie, a Snuggery reader (continue to the end to learn more about Jixie)

🍂 Seasonal Selections 🍂

  • I’m currently rewatching The Queen’s Gambit, and it’s even better than I remember it being the first time. Anya Taylor-Joy is a …joy… to watch on screen. From the cinematography to the costumes to the writing, it’s an all-around fantastic show.

  • I’ve been listening to this Jazz for Autumn playlist while I write, and it’s oh-so soothing.

  • Fuck it, hedgehog task lamp.

☕️ What’s Been Brewing ☕️

  • Many moons ago, I wrote blog posts for a jewelry pop-up shop. This particular blog, all about the academia aesthetic, feels especially relevant today. (The jewelry site is currently under construction, but I promise to link the shop as soon as it’s up and running!)

📙 Spectacular Vernacular 📙

Logolepsy [log-lip-see] (n.)

  1. a fierce fascination and an all-consuming obsession with words

As all decent writers must, she suffered from the tragic and fatal fate of logolepsy.

🤎 Cozy Conversations 🤎

What’s your favorite reading nook or study spot, and what makes it the perfect place for your learning adventures? Share your spots, and you just might be featured in next week’s postcard.

A Reader’s Flat:

“Three months ago, I moved into a new flat. I love it, as it’s essentially in the countryside, and it has its own little garden. I decorated my flat like a cottagecore dream, with pale sage green and rosy pink and sky blue. My friend Mags, one of my best friend in all the world is going to crochet me a throw for my sofa as part of my housewarming present. There’s a forest at the top of my road that I visit. I’ve seen it in summer, but I am so excited to see it now that it’s autumn, and see the little changes since last I visited.”

Thank you for sharing with us, Jixie! Your new home sounds beyond lovely.

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays.

I’m going to my sister’s house tomorrow to carve pumpkins, make chili and butterbeer, and watch festive movies. Hehe. :)

Until next week, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

Reply to this email with a Cozy Conversation response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

🤎 Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

🍂 Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.