April Showers

...bring me boocoos of joy.

Hello! You’re reading Snuggery, a virtual postcard of cozy content capturing the fleeting beauty of the seasons. To join our cozy community, hit subscribe. Light a candle, grab a cuppa, and sit a spell. Stay awhile. ✉️

“I love the rain. I love how it softens the outlines of things. The world becomes softly blurred, and I feel like I might melt right into it.”

– Hagumi Hanamoto, Honey and Clover

💛 from the hearth 💛

Dear friend,

While I love a cheerful, sunny spring day just as much as the next gal, stormy weather holds a special place in my pluviophilic heart.

Few experiences bring me greater peace than curling up with a beguiling book, a purring cat, and a steaming cup of tea—all while the gentle pitter-patter of raindrops and distant rumbles of thunder serenade in the background.

While April isn’t peak rainy season here in Tampa, we’ve been treated to a couple of sublime storms this month, which have refreshed our skies and rejuvenated my soul with their cleansing touch.

These unexpected displays of nature’s power have added a sprinkle of serenity to our otherwise sun-kissed days.

So, I hope you enjoy this rain-themed edition of Snuggery, inspired by the drama of nature. May you find as much comfort and coziness in this postcard as you would a rainy day spent snuggled at home.

(P.S. My email is still on the fritz, but I promise I’m reading all of your messages and will respond as soon as I possibly can! xxx)

🐝 seasonal selections 🐝

  • I used to frequent this Rainy Mood website during my high school days, and I’ve recently rekindled my love affair with it. Perfect for those sunny days when you long for a touch of rain.

  • Frank Coburn is among my favorite artists, largely due to his multitude of rain-centric paintings. I know I truly adore an art piece when I get the chills at first sight, and both this painting and this painting never fail to fill me with that ooey-gooey, spine-tingling sensation.

  • I’m in love with this umbrella necklace and its matching earrings. (The entire WildCraftedStudio shop is a treasure trove of magical, nature-inspired delights.)

  • “What does rain look like?” is a poignant poem penned by Jixie Dye, a Snuggery reader, a writer, and a dear PenPal of mine. Jixie, who is visually impaired, crafted the below poem when contemplating the essence of rain. As always, thank you so much for sharing your heartfelt words, Jixie. <3

“What does rain look like?”

Rain that pours, or splats or plops

Be it hot or be it cold

When I’ve asked what you are like

These are things that I’ve been told

Rain is clear, but as it falls

It looks like tadpoles with short tails

Perhaps I should ask those in Wales

I wonder then, if it is clear

How can you see it, when it appears

Does it not camouflage or hide

Against the other things outside?

I look outside, but I can’t see

It’s all a mystery to me

Oh raindrop, raindrop where might you be

How I envy those who see.

– Jixie Dye

🐣 spectacular vernacular 🐣

petrichor [peh-truh-kor] (n.) • Greek

  1. the pleasant, earthy aroma that frequently accompanies the first rain after a prolonged dry spell

Unphased by the downpour, I stepped outside of my home and into the pouring rain, breathing in the comforting petrichor that wrapped around me like an old friend.

🌼 cozy conversations 🌼

What’s your favorite rainy-day activity? ⛈️

Thanks for reading, and I do hope you have the snuggest of Thursdays. I have an eventful week ahead (hockey game, out-of-town visitors, Billy Strings concert—oh my), so I plan on doing a whole lot of nothing this weekend.

Until next week, stay cozy.

With warmth and whimsy,

Want to support Snuggery and my content?

This little newsletter is a one-woman operation, and I’m on a genuine mission to make the world a kinder, cozier, and more creative place. Here are a few ways you can support me and the postcard.

🐝 Share Your Thoughts: Reply to this email with a ‘cozy conversation’ response, a snug story, or anything else you’d like to share. I read every single note I receive!

☕️ Support the Warmth: Make a donation or buy me a cuppa. Coffee fuels my whims and words, and donations ensure that I can continue writing the postcard.

✉️ Stay Connected: Add [email protected] to your contacts so you never miss an edition.

💛 Spread the Coziness: Share Snuggery with anyone you think might enjoy it as much as you do!

🌼 Explore My Words: Follow me on Medium to support my poetry and writing.

Reply

or to participate.